Give and Take

Standard
Give and Take

Take a read.

Take a listen.

Take my heart, my hands, my kissing.

*

Take away this shallow regret,

Of sleepless nights

Of lonely beds.

*

All the times hope fell down

Upon the rocks of mortal grounds.

Like feral hands of children learned

They do not have their love returned.

*

Oh how fragile full hearts grow,

The love for you you’ll never know.

One small prick sends waves abroad

To ships that sail with weapons drawn.

*

Thistle, bramble, weeping vine

That drank my blood when we entwined.

Upon the hedge I left my mark,

My lily body both cold and stark.

*

How I waited, how I groaned

With demand of kings who’d been dethroned.

My high tower a blatant example

Of why men give up what they can’t handle.

*

How they must bow in gracious pleasure,

For his mere presence to them is treasure.

But I am wolf, not a sniveling dog,

With pride I choose a prince, not frogs.

*

So with heed, do take my face

Upon my lips set your embrace

Teach to me what love might mean

When it’s more than a clever scheme.

*

I give to you my fox’s eye,

A sharp coal burning, a wily fire.

My jovial leaping, my arching back

A moan, a bite finds what I lack.

*

How lovely the way you lower me down,

A flushed sheet, security found.

Within your mind, you tell it all.

A stroke, a scent, a chemical draw.

*

My autumn hair,

My spring light lips,

The sweep of your

Rough hands on hips.

*

Warmed with passion

Built on flames

Fine as promises worn with age.

*

Breathe in deep,

Message expressed,

A musical note upon the flesh.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

